Undergraduate Fellowship in Disability Policy

2019 Lurie Undergraduate Fellows in Disability Policy, along with Research Associate Robyn Powell

The Undergraduate Fellowship in Disability Policy provides an opportunity for Brandeis University undergraduate students with a strong interest in disability policy to develop research skills and expand their knowledge of disability policy. The goal of the Undergraduate Fellowship program is to identify future researchers and offer them direct research training with established Lurie Institute investigators. 

Applications are accepted annually in the spring from rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors. The submission of application materials includes a completed application form; one-page statement of interest; résumé; letter of recommendation from a Brandeis professor; and Brandeis transcript. Notification of acceptance occurs in early summer. Selected students begin the Undergraduate Fellowship at the beginning of the following academic year.

Fellows are awarded a $4,000 stipend, and expected to work approximately 6-8 hours per week during the academic year (spring and fall semesters) with Lurie Institute for Disability Policy senior researchers. The fellow is paired with a Lurie mentor based on their research interests, and participates in ongoing disability policy research. Fellows have the opportunity to participate in local disability community events and may be able to attend a disability-related research conference and co-author a peer reviewed publication. Toward the conclusion of the fellowship, students are expected to produce one opinion piece for publication in an online magazine/newspaper such as the Huffington Post related to the topic they have been studying, and present their research publicly at the Heller School for Social Policy.

Our 2019-20 Undergraduate Fellows have been selected. Find out more about this year's Fellows here

Applications for the 2020-21 cohort of fellows are now open. See application information to apply. All applications are due on May 1, 2020.