Heller Highlights

The Heller School for Social Policy and Management at Brandeis University

skip to content

Student Recognition

Honors and Awards

Lisette AnzoateguiLisette Anzoategui, MA-SID/COEX ’15, has been selected to serve as the Practicum Instructor and Community Advisor for Brandeis’ Leader Scholar Community Program. As a faculty instructor, she will be teaching a year-long experiential learning course titled “Global Perspectives on Effective Methods of Social Change” where incoming undergraduate students will examine international social movements, reflect deeply on global justice issues, and develop a large scale project in the second semester. Students will implement a social change project in order to develop skills as agents of change and leadership.

Sara Chaganti is one of four doctoral students awarded the competitive University Prize Instructorship. This fall she will be teaching “Work, Employment and Unemployment: Sociological Approaches.”

PhD candidate Julie Johnson was awarded an F31 predoctoral grant for two years of funding from the National Institute on Drug Abuse for her dissertation, “Do State Marijuana Policies Affect Adolescent Marijuana and Alcohol Use?”

Megan Madison, PhD student, was awarded a Doris Duke Fellowship for the Promotion of Child Well-Being. This funding will enable her to spend the next two years working full-time toward the completion of her dissertation and the dissemination of its findings to relevant stakeholders.

The selection of the 2014 Inaugural Ruderman Social Justice in Disability Scholars was announced January 2014. Brandeis University seniors Danielle Sackstein ’14 and Ruth Zeilicovich ’14 began their research assistantships with Susan Parish, director for the Lurie Institute for Disability Policy, on February 1.
The selection of the 2015 Ruderman Scholars was announced in April 2014. Brandeis University juniors Jennifer Bromberg ’15, Elizabeth Chalfin ’15, Jennifer Lee ’15 and Deanna Marion ’15 were selected from a pool of very qualified applicants. The Ruderman Social Justice in Disability Scholars Program was established in 2013 through the generosity of the Ruderman Family Foundation and is an opportunity for Brandeis undergraduates with an interest in disability issues to expand their knowledge and experience in the field.

New Fellows in the Eli J. Segal Citizen Leadership Program are Nicole Hart, MPP ’15, and Molly O'Donnell, MPP/MBA ʼ16. These two students will join the 14 previous Heller MPP Segal Fellows.

Sillerman Center internships were awarded to Sarah Mosca, MPP ʼ15, and Marie Piayai, MA-SID ʼ15.

PhD candidates Jenna Sirkin and Cynthia Tschampl received scholarships from AcademyHealth and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to attend AcademyHealth's Annual Research Meeting (ARM) in San Diego and the Public Health Systems Research Interest Group Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with ARM, in June 2014. Sirkin and Tschampl received these awards for exceptional research work in public health.

Knowledge Advancing Social Justice

Copyright 2019 • Brandeis University • All rights are reserved