Heller Highlights

The Heller School for Social Policy and Management at Brandeis University

skip to content

Honors and Awards

Honors and Awards

Dolores Acevedo-Garcia was appointed to the Hispanic Advisory Council for the March of Dimes.

Rachel Sayko Adams, PhD '13, and Maria Torres, PhD '12, were recipients of the Schneider Institutes for Health Policy Senior Research Associate Endowment Support Grant to prepare a National Institutes of Health early career investigator grant.

Professor Mari Fitzduff was the recipient of the 2014 Heller Teaching Award.

Professor Emerita Janet Z. GielePepperdine University's Graduate School of Education and Psychology established the Janet Z. Giele Award “to recognize a woman in leadership whose life course is distinguished both by unique obstacles she has overcome and by the remarkable achievements she has accomplished in her chosen field of endeavor." The 2014 Giele Award went to the new medical director of the Martin Luther King Hospital in South Los Angeles.

Constance Horgan has been appointed to the new Institute of Medicine Committee on Developing Evidence-Based Standards for Psychosocial Interventions for Mental Disorders.

Lurie Institute Research Assistant Leah Igdalsky '14 was appointed a Lurie Fellow in January 2014. She was also selected by the Brandeis University 2014 Committee on Prizes and Awards as a winner of this year's Katherine A. Chernosky Memorial Award for Conscientious and Creative Living. This award is given "to an individual whose manner of living embodies mature, conscientious dedication to duty, family and friends."

Isabella Jean, MA-COEX '06, was appointed a peer reviewer of conference proposals for the American Evaluation Association.

Theodore Johnson, Assistant Professor, was awarded the 2014 Heller Mentoring Award.

Laura Lorenz, PhD '08, and the SLI Brain Injury Wellness Center in Lexington, MA, received a grant from the Dana Home Foundation to explore Lexington's unique characteristics related to community integration among older adults with disabilities from brain injury and envision actionable local solutions. The keystone activity will be a photovoice project with 12 Lexington elders to understand community integration from their perspectives. The activity is serious yet fun and educational as people use cameras to answer questions, discuss their photos, and prepare an exhibit, which will serve as a resource for discussions with community stakeholders.

Robert Mechanic was appointed as an expert reviewer for the Congressional Budget Office for its publication, Options for Reducing the Deficit in 2014.

Susan Parish was appointed to the inaugural board of directors of the International Society on Cancer and Intellectual Disabilities.

Thomas Shapiro received the Distinguished Member Award from the Sportsmen’s Tennis and Enrichment Center. This award recognized Tom’s dedication to social justice, racial inequality, and the racial wealth gap.

Thomas Shapiro received the Asset Builder Champion Award as part of the 2014 Color of Wealth Summit, which is organized in conjunction with the Congressional Black Caucus, Congressional Hispanic Caucus, and Congressional Asian American Caucus.

Hannah Thomas, PhD '12, has been selected to be a Self-Sufficiency Research Clearinghouse (SSRC) Emerging Scholar. During her term Hannah will host a Webinar to present and discuss her research with SSRC users.

Knowledge Advancing Social Justice

Copyright 2018 • Brandeis University • All rights are reserved